Member News

June 8, 2018

VI University Baseball World Championship to Kick Off in Chinese Taipei

Chiayi (Chinese Taipei) will host the sixth edition of the FISU University Baseball World Championship from Thursday, 5, to Sunday, 15 July.

The draw of the 2 four team groups was made public by FISU (the International University Sports Federation) through a video posted on their YouTube Channel on June 6.

Group A: Chinese Taipei, Korea, Czech Republic and Australia

Group B: Japan, USA, Russia and Hong Kong

The first edition of the Baseball University Baseball Championship was played in 2002 in Messina (Italy). The last time the tournament was played dates back to 2010.

Past winners

2002  (in Italy)    1. CUB    2. USA    3. JPN

2004  (in Taiwan)  1. USA    2. JPN    3. KOR

2006  (Cuba)      1. USA    2. TPE    3. CUB

2008  (Czech)     1. USA    2. JPN    3. TPE

2010  (Japan)     1. CUB    2. USA    3. JPN